Connectivism

Mindmap

Mindmap

Connectivism is a learning theory that integrates technology, social networks, and information (Laureate, 2009). Since I have started this journey to an MS in IDT, my time is limited. I must ask family and friends to allow me quiet time. I also find that I must ask forgiveness for not being present or not being able to attend some functions as I have homework to complete.
As far as technology, I use the internet, search engines, websites, blogs, videos, and a music site to facilitate my learning. I find that music, specifically pieces with no words, work best for me when I am trying to think or write a paper.
When I have questions, I look up the material on Google, ask friends and family, or search the books and the internet through blogs, video, etc. for what I need to know.
My personal learning network is supported through technology, social networks like Facebook, and the use of readily available information. I am connected, in one way or another to all three components. We live in a technological age in which is exciting and scary at the same time. There is so much information out there to help one in their studies. On the other hand, there is a lot of information out there that should not be out there. I believe that I could not complete this degree without being connected in some way through technology. I believe it would be a more difficult task without the technology available to us today. I am excited to see what the future brings in the way we will learn through new and emerging technology.

Leave a Reply

